GLOBAL DOMINATION

IS DEAD

Nightwish: Once – The “I’m so sorry”-version

Nightwish: Once – The "I'm so sorry"-version

16/05/04  ||  Lord K Philipson

This is the best album I ever heard.

I love Nightwish. I always did. I think it’s cool that they can pull off some excellent power-metal and make it even more excellent thanx to vocalist/princess Tarja. Pretty much as with Evanescence, Nightwish would still be the best band in the world even without their respective vocalists. What I dig even more about this lovely band though is the fact that they have always managed to include a complete album of explicit material every time they release a new record. It seems like genius-composer/keyboard-hero Tuomas’ ideas never run dry. It’s evident on all their albums, to my grand liking.

Another thing that completely makes me love Nightwish is the extra-ordinary male-vocalist/superhero they throw in here and there within the songs. His voice is very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very good and he’s definitely great for Nightwish as a completely marvellous sidekick to the always astonishing Tarja. I’m about to shit my pants when he pulls out his most manly vocals, and I mean that in the best way possible.

So, let me rant a little bit more about the best thing on earth, even in the whole universe, Tarja’s vocals. You all know what she sounds like, operatic (with a tendency to be so good you almost die) and sweet with tons of vibrato. While I’m at it I have to add that I looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove a lot of vibrato with vocalists. There we go, I said it. Line up Bouncy Knowles in front of a wall and give me some flowers to throw at her, that’s how much I like vibrato. Tarja isn’t using vibrato to the same extent as the just-mentioned wonderful vocalist, but she is definitely a lot better. She’s the best vocalist I ever heard. This time around Tarja’s probably been working more on her voice than ever before, coz that operatic voice has evolved into something even sweeter sometimes. I know, you didn’t think it was possible, but she’s better than ever on this album. She’s the best vocalist I have ever heard. Ever. In my entire life. Yes, it’s a promise. She sings with a different approach here and there, and I love it so much I can’t put it into words. Great work princess.

What about the material then? Well, it’s Nightwish you know. Absolutely wonderful flutes here and there, included to create a “very” medieval atmosphere, and I have never heard it so well done before. Ever. In my entire life. I promise. It’s the same magic formula as always when it comes to Nightwish; wonderful riffs on one string with some warm and tender keyboard sounds backing it up. I have never heard guitars and keyboards so well done before. Ever. In my entire life. I promise The occasional astonishing guitar and keyboard solos are there ofcourse, and I have never heard solos so well done before. Ever. In my entire life. I promise .

I have listened to this album probably one million times now and everything has struck me as excellent. E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G. I have never heard an album so well done before. Ever. In my entire life. I promise The best choruses I ever heard are here as well, and each and every song is a real hit-song.

I usually don’t make a song-by-song review when I bash or praise a band, so I guess I will wander about in that fashion and just mention some of the songs on the album. I’ll cover them in no particular order, just becoz I can’t choose which one to start with as they are all the best stuff I ever heard in my entire life. Ever. In my entire life. I promise. I really do.

The first single off this album was “Nemo”, and it’s definitely the best song these guys ever wrote. It’s very basic Nightwish, just better. With tons of surprises everywhere within it. “Dark chest of wonders” (among others) sport those utterly wonderful orchestra-hits (Children of Bodom ring a bell?) I so much love. I’m going to tattoo an orchestra-hit on my back thanx to these guys. There’s quite a bunch of stuff I love in music, orchestra-hits are high on that list, just so you know. This song goes by and every eye-brow is being raised. “Higher than hope” is a power-ballad deluxe with the best chorus I ever heard. Ever. In my entire life. I promise. If they skipped everything but the chorus, they still would have ended up with the best song I have ever heard. WhenI think about it, this song is the best Nightwish ever did. I think that’s a huge compliment on the songwriting . This mentioned chorus is a good proof of how Tarja’s voice has developed since the last album. Lovely.

“Ghost love score” then… This one gives me ABBA-vibes, and that can only be good. Wonderful verse to say the least and it picks up even more in the chorus. It would be very interesting to see them pull this chorus off live, since the vocals are dubbed beyond recognition. But I know they can do it, coz they are magic and they know elves and trolls and angels and everything else that is magic. This is the best song I have ever heard and it’s the best track Nightwish ever wrote. In this 10 minute track, there’s not one single second that loses my attention. That’s how I dig my Nightwish. Something Nightwish should be declared saints for is including a very wonderful and epic ballad sung in Finnish. A ballad sung in Finnish?! Yes, wonderful. Finnish is one of the most wonderful languages in the world. It should be spoken, and sung in, every day. And night. By everyone. All the time.This is the best track Nighwish ever did. Ever. That’s a promise.

I could go on and write about the remaining tracks as well, but I have decided not to. If I did though, the following would be included;

1. More wonderful flutes
2. More chuggy power metal riffing. Very wonderful as well.
3. More flutes. Even more wonderful than the first time.
4. More bombastic parts. Completely wonderful ofcourse.
5. One angel. A wonderful angel. I wish I had one myself.
6. Neat choruses. Wonderful choruses even.

That sums the album up all fine. I wonder why I didn’t write this review just like that. In 6 parts. 6 wonderful, to-the-point parts. That would have saved me 30 minutes of my life and still it would have described the sound of this album perfectly.

Nightwish were the best on their first 2 albums. They are now “the best” even more. This just sounds very wonderful. It’s the best album I have ever heard. In my entire life. I promise. I haven’t heard one single album, or snarehit, or guitartone, in my whole life that even comes close to this. I promise. Oh, before I forget… I think Nightwish is one awesome name.

I love you, Nightwish.

Rating: 600/10. The only album I can give more than a 10. It deserves each and every one of those 600 points. This is the best album I have ever heard. I promise.

  • Information
  • Released (in the lovely year of): 2004
  • Label: Spinefarm
  • Website: www.nightwish.com
  • Band
  • The marvellous Tarja Turunen: Very wonderful vocals
  • The almost as marvellous Marco Hietala: superior bass
  • The very marvellous Tuomas Holopainen: godly keyboards
  • The kind of most marvellous Erno Vuorinen: Romantic guitars
  • The most marvellous Jukka Nevalainen: Enchanting drums
  • The incredible tracklisting for this incredible album
  • 01. Dark Chest Of Wonders
  • 02. Wish I Had An Angel
  • 03. Nemo
  • 04. Planet Hell
  • 05. Creek Mary’s Blood
  • 06. The Siren
  • 07. Dead Gardens
  • 08. Romanticide
  • 09. Ghost Love Score
  • 10. Kuolema Tekee Taiteilijan
  • 11. Higher Than Hope
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 23, 2014 by in Hall of Fame, Reviews.
